Posted by: onmyway2organized | June 12, 2010

Doughnuts

Mmmm…Doughnuts.

I didn’t always like doughnuts.  In fact, when I was a kid, the very smell of a doughnut made me nauseated.

Not true today.  I have come to enjoy a good fresh (um, can fresh and oil-fried, sugared, pastry product go together?) .  Anyways, like I was saying, the first time I fell in love with a doughnut was when I was sixteen.  A bunch of my girlfriends and I had gone to the beach and my best friend knew of this place that made “the worlds best doughnuts”.  She was right, because I tasted and let the soft warm dough melt in my mouth.  It was wonderful.  And from that moment on I have liked doughnuts.

Not every doughnut is made equal in my mind though.  The truly good doughnuts are the ones that are not decked out with cream, sprinkles or chocolate.  I like the original ones. You may call them plain-I call them delightful.  The cake type doughnuts are a whole different category, in my personal opinion.  I like them, but not so much as a ‘doughnut’. More like a cake-hence the name.

Last night we took the boys to Krispy kream for a treat.  We all got to pick out a doughnut, mine was original, of course.  The boys picked the most colorful sprinkeled doughnuts and my daring husband opted for the ‘flavor of the month’ doughnut, which happend to be leamon cream somthing or other. When we got home, I put the rest of our assorted dozzen on the table.  It wasn’t long before I heard, “Liz, will you make sure he puts that doughnut back.”  My younges son had gotten into the box and snuck out a chocolate cream filled treat.  As I went towards him to make sure he put it back, he quickly stuffed as much of the pastry as he could fit into his little mouth and took one last bite. He is too funny sometimes.  After that I let my older son, who saw the whole fiasco, take a big bite too.  Figured I should be fair and all. 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

