Posted by: onmyway2organized | June 22, 2010

Songs

“A song will outlive all sermons in the memory.” – Henry Giles

Music can be  powerful.  It can play on our emotions and allow us to feel deeper. It Reaches into our very soul and highlights what is in it.  Sometimes, it may not have the best effect on us. I remember going through a  time in my life when I was very angry at someone.  The music that spoke to me and I sought out and was, naturally, music that helped me feel that anger.  I’m not talking scary, yelling-at-you kinda music.  But it was music with little purpose, and what purpose it had was negative.  However, it was so subtle that you may not ever notice it until you are there, in the mood with the song.  I remember when I realized it, driving my car one day, and I saw the effect of my choice.  I had heard that song a hundred times before and never saw it, until then.

Music can have a good effect on our heart too.  And the good, is what I want to talk about.

Sometimes a song feels like it was written just for you.  I remember hearing the song “While I’m waiting” for the first time.  “Wow!  Seriously?  Did they know me?”  In that time my husband and I were ‘waiting’ to find, not only a job, but a house.  I also struggled at times because I felt like I was ‘waiting’ to hear God’s voice. Hearing that song, made me remember that “Yes, I will serve you (God) while I’m waiting”.

Then, more recently, we lost a baby.  I couldn’t tell you how many times I hear the song “Before the morning” and never thought a thing about it.  But when I heard it after loosing the baby, I cried.  It spoke so much to me. It was so perfect for this time in my life.

Here are the lyrics to this song:

Do you wonder why you have to,
feel the things that hurt you,
if there’s a God who loves you,
where is He now?

Maybe, there are things you can’t see
and all those things are happening
to bring a better ending
some day, some how, you’ll see, you’ll see

Chorus:
Would dare you, would you dare, to believe,
that you still have a reason to sing,
’cause the pain you’ve been feeling,
can’t compare to the joy that’s coming

so hold on, you got to wait for the light
press on, just fight the good fight
because the pain you’ve been feeling,
it’s just the dark before the morning

My friend, you know how this all ends
and you know where you’re going,
you just don’t know how you get there
so just say a prayer.
and hold on, cause there’s good who love God,
life is not a snapshot, it might take a little time,
but you’ll see the bigger picture

Would dare you, would you dare, to believe,
that you still have a reason to sing,
’cause the pain you’ve been feeling,
can’t compare to the joy that’s coming

so hold on, you got to wait for the light
press on, just fight the good fight
because the pain you’ve been feeling,
it’s just the dark before the morning
yeah, yeah,
before the morning,
yeah, yeah

Once you feel the way of glory,
all your pain will fade to memory
once you feel the way of glory,
all your pain will fade to memory
memory, memory, yeah

Would dare you, would you dare, to believe,
that you still have a reason to sing,
’cause the pain you’ve been feeling,
can’t compare to the joy that’s coming

Would dare you, would you dare, to believe,
that you still have a reason to sing,
’cause the pain you’ve been feeling,
can’t compare to the joy that’s coming

com’n, you got to wait for the light
press on, just fight the good fight
because the pain you’ve been feeling,
it’s just the hurt before the healing
the pain you’ve been feeling,
just the dark before the morning
before the morning, yeah, yeah
before the morning

(Christian lyrics – BEFORE THE MORNING LYRICS – JOSH WILSON )

I was there.  Wondering why God let this happen.  Able to do little else then cling to my faith.  Knowing that God loved me in my head, choosing to believe it, even though every ounce of feeling was contrary.  I was hurt and I needed healing.

In one of the verses it says “My friend, you know how this all ends
/and you know where you’re going,/you just don’t know how you get there/so say a prayer and hold on”.  I want to clarify that, I don’t believe the author is talking about going to heaven (although, I could very much be wrong), because, we can know the way to heaven-Jesus Christ.  I actually think he means getting past the pain and hurt and rising up for Christ.  See, when you are there, in so much pain, with so many questions, all you have is what you know to be true from the word of God.  You know that God is going to pull you out, you just can’t see how, and you can’t even fathom when. So you just hold on and pray and pray.  Begging God to hold you.

The third song that has really spoken to me recently is “Our God” sung by Chris Tomlin.  It is just so beautiful and simple.  It list’s all of these wonderful things that God is.  And then, in the midst of listing to attributes of who God is it says “and if our God is for us, then who can ever stop us?”.  This is such a great thought for me right now.  As I mentioned earlier, my husband and I have been waiting on a house. It has been over almost two and a half years now since I have had my own home (One of those years was because we worked in-home with a children’s home.)  We have made several offers on homes, and for one reason or another, an offer would fall through.  We have an offer on a house right now, and it has been up and down and up again.  But, if God is for us getting this house, if he wants it to happen, then “who can stop us?“. “Our God is greater, our God is stronger, our God is higher than any other.”  That is my God.  And I have to keep trusting him.

Now, I do want to mention, that even though a song can speak truth and glorify our God, they can not take the place of scripture.  We must be filling our minds with the word of God  (I say this to myself also, as I have to conninually ask God to keep me in his word).  God’s word gives us hope and training, correction and healing.  It turns us to him and is so very important that we seek him in it. But sometimes, even when we least expect it, God may alow a song to fill our ears and touch our hearts.

Responses

  1. […] we waited on Jonathan’s job for over a year.  He was  now employed, and we were in the middle of searching for a house.  It was supposed to be a quick find.  It wasn’t.  Once again we found ourselves waiting […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

