Posted by: onmyway2organized | June 29, 2010

27

Today I celebrate 27 years of life.

I am truly blessed with what I have and where I’ve been.  I am blessed to have known the people I have known and the people I know now.  I have a wonderful husband who loves me and two beautiful boys that have been entrusted to me.

Yes, I am blessed.  God has blessed me.  Let me not forget, all I have is from God.  Any good that is in me is because he put it there.  Even now as I give him the credit for all things, even this thankfulness, is from God.  I have not earned anything.  I have not sought after God on my own.  God gave me everything-even my desire to know him.  And I am thankful.

Paul tells us in Corinthians that “30It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God—that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption. 31Therefore, as it is written: “Let him who boasts boast in the Lord.”

It is God who works in me.  Now, I don’t know why, but I continually try and do things on my own.  I try to be good on my own.  I try to earn favor with God. I think because sometimes I want to be able to say “see how good I am”. The older I get the more controlling and prideful I realize this wicked heart of mine is.  Sometimes it overwhelms me.  But God knows- all my evil thoughts and deeds-and he still loves me.  Don’t misunderstand me-God hates sin, He hates evil.  But because God knows our hearts (that to which we can’t even know fully), and he sent his son.  He says that he will redeem us through the blood of Jesus.  He also says that he will continue the work he (get that- HE) started in us. (Philippians 4)  He says that “if we confess our sin, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sin and to cleans us from all unrighteousness”  All unrighteousness- even my pride.  So I cling to this truth.  His promise, his forgiveness, his mercy.  All of which I can not fully comprehend, but all of which I choose to believe and hold on to.

What a good God.  To love us, to put our sin as far as the east is from the west.  To bring us to him. To free me of my pride and selfishness.  To show me mercy.  To bring me to my knees.  Yes, what a wonderful God.  I am blessed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

