Posted by: onmyway2organized | July 13, 2010

Roads

The road not taken was not your path. – Micheal Lipsey 

I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I intended to be.- Doughlas Adams 

Most of you know that I have been without a home to call my own for well over two years now.  One year being because we felt God call us to Miracle Hill- A non-profit children’s home at which  we were houseparents.  And for the later year and a half, we have been living with Jonathan’s parents while Jonathan waited on a job, and then while searching for a home. 

It has been a journey on a long road.  But on this journey we have learned things; about, our family, ourselves and most importantly our God.  I can tell you though, now that we are coming to a close, I would go through it all over again.  I have learned things that I hope to never take for granted.  I have learned to become more dependent upon God’s word.  Something that I begged God to teach me.  I have watched my mother-in-law; her attitude and actions, hoping that they would rub off on me a little.  I asked God several times (and still continue to do so), to help me become a better homemaker.  I believe that He answered that through this woman whom I have lived with for a year and a half. 

It is funny, ever since we have been without a home of our own I have sought for one.  Begging God, searching, waiting.  Now that we have one (and I must tell you all about it later), I feel a little disappointed that I will be moving.  Some of my closer friends who read this might think I am crazy for saying this,  seeing that I spoke of how I longed for my own place for so long.  But to tell you the truth I have realized what a blessing it has been to share a home with people you love.  Now I’m not saying that I won’t be moving, we will-and I am ready.

Part of me will miss the current situation I am in.   Even thought at times I longed for a quite home, it have been great to have someone there to talk to during the ‘everyday’ moments.  It has been a blessing to only cook three nights a week, knowing that your family will still be well fed the other days because you share the work load.   One of the biggest blessings was being able to leave the kids at home with  “Grammy” while I made a quick run to the store.  All of my ‘mommy friends’ know what a big deal this is because there is no such thing as a ‘quick run to the store’ when you take children with you.

Yes, there  are many things I won’t miss.  Many things that I, shamefully admit to complaining about.  It wasn’t always easy, but what road that we travel down is always easy?  What would we learn?  What profit would there be?  Where would that road led? We wouldn’t have been stretched or taught….we would have just walked.   It reminds me or Robert Frost Poem “The Road Less Traveled”.  I believe it is the last two lines that read ” I took the one less traveled by, And that has made all the difference”.  God puts us all on different roads.  He knows which ones will grow us, which will break us to turn to him, which ones encourage us. He also knows when we need to travel on which road.  He is our map, our guide, and our companion.  God gave me this road…..and that has made all the difference.

Responses

  1. Beautiful Liz!
    Being 10 hours from family for almost 3 years really taught me now to appreciate the family time.
    Praying for you guys as you soon get settled in.
    I hope we can get together soon, love ya, my friend!
    Jess

  2. Thanks Jess:) I am in W-S now. I will call you in the A.M to see if we can get togeather.


Leave a Reply

Categories

