Posted by: onmyway2organized | July 25, 2010

Rice

I haven’t forgotten about my original plan for this blog, I just….ummm…. got sidetracked, I guess.  With all that is going on in my heart that I have  wanted to share,  and with us moving (!),  I have had some very busy days and not much of them have been focused on real foods or natural living.

I can say that I have cleaned most of my house with vinegar.  I guess I will just have to believe them when they say that it kills disease-causing germs.  It seems to clean well, is super cheap and of course the best thing is that I don’t have to fear the kids eating it! Sadly though, the smell is a little overwhelming and it is not a fresh clean smell.

The next “baby step” is to eat more brown rice.  Not so hard of a step for me, because I was already moving this way with rice.  It is slightly more expensive than white rice and takes a little longer to cook, but it is really an easy change. I don’t think that the taste is that much different.

We aren’t much of rice people, we prefer potatoes as a starchy side, but I am going to try to put more of it in our diets now that I’ve read all the amazing benefits.

Brown rice:

  • Is a high source of Magnesium
  • Helps with weight loss
  • Helps lower cholesterol
  • Helps fight colon cancer
  • Lowers risk of type 2 diabetes

Check out this site to see even more!

Seriously,  All this from rice!?! Check out this chart from www.whfoods.com,  (same site as above).

Food Chart
Anyone have any good rice recipes?  I didn’t grow up eating rice very often, so I just know how to make ‘plain Jane’ rice and a few other simple ideas.  Would love to find other ways to include this great food in to our diet.
Responses

  1. One thing my family has liked is to crumble chorizo in a skillet and saute it until it is cooked. Then I add in cooked brown rice, stir and add in a drained can of pinto beans (or black, but Eric is totally against black beans). Cook until everything is combined and warmed through. You can top with cheese as you serve if you want.

  2. What is “chorizo” ? I haven’t heard of it……

    Sounds good otherwise. “Eric is totally against black beans”……haha, how can you hate a bean?


Leave a Reply

Categories

