Posted by: onmyway2organized | December 24, 2010

Blessed

As the year comes to a close, I have been thinking about all we have experienced in this 2010.  It has been a year of ups and downs, a roller coaster of events.  My heart grows soft and warm, as I think of the past events.

We started out this year discouraged. Last year we waited on Jonathan’s job for over a year.  He was  now employed, and we were in the middle of searching for a house.  It was supposed to be a quick find.  It wasn’t.  Once again we found ourselves waiting on God.  Looking back I can see how his gentle hand guided us.  How he led us to the perfect home for our family.  And how much we can appreciate the waiting now.

On mothers day we announced that we were expecting.  We were longing for a baby and excited for a new addition for our family.  I hadn’t been pregnant long when we found out that the pregnancy was in trouble.  We lost the baby, which sent me in a whirlwind of questions about myself and about God.  It was a painful, uncertain journey.  My thoughts went wild with doubt.  My faith felt attacked and everything was questioned.  God held me through that time.  He didn’t leave me alone with my fears.  His spirit led me to answers, which lead to the growing of my faith in Him.  Yes it was painful, but it was necessary, and I’m thankful for that time.

In addition to moving into the home that we just bought, we celebrated six years of marriage in July.  We have grown closer and I’m so blessed that God gave me a man with such a passion for himself.  That one thing is more precious to me than any other character of the man I love.  Hear me men, be a man of God!  It will give your wife security in the most uncertain times.

In October we lost another baby.  The fear and doubt crept back in.  God fought my fight and is still guiding me through that pain. I think I can finally see how it is possible for James 1:2 to be true.   “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. ”

October and November held several challenges.  Cars broke down.  The 14-year-old AC unit in our home finally gave out.  Jonathan had two lawnmowers break down.  Each time God provided.  We have  a beautiful new truck. And just purchased a new heating and air unit for the home.  My God is the King of all Kings and he is not limited in his resources.

Here we are in December.  A time for family and friends.  A time to reminisce over the year.   A time to remember how our Saviour humbly came into this world.  And most importantly; a time to remember why-  “For God so loved the world,that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. For  God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him.  Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God.”  John 3:16-18.

Merry Christmas everyone! I hope you can see how blessed you have been this year!

Leave a Reply

Categories

