Posted by: onmyway2organized | February 10, 2011

Heaven

I have been thinking about heaven a lot lately.

What will it be like?  Well we rest in God’s loving arms?  Dance with David?  Worship with Abraham?   Sit at Jesus feet with Mary?  Sing with Paul?

A former co-worker died this week.  She was thirty years old; Young, beautiful,  a person of real character.  The faith of her and her husband convicted and encouraged me.   When they found out she had terminal cancer just two short months ago, it was clear that they sought to honor God. Praise him.  Give him glory.  And they did.

Sometimes, heaven doesn’t seem very real.  I can’t comprehend what it is like.  It doesn’t fit into any box I have here on earth.  It almost seems like a fairytale.   Other times it seems real enough to take my breath away. Like the times I think about the fact that I will see my saviors face.  See it.  Not read about it.  See with my own eyes.

There is so much about God that I don’t know.  Some because I have failed to study his word.  Other things, because possibly God hasn’t revealed it to me right now. Yet, there are some things that I just can’t fully understand.  He is God.  His very breath created the world.  He has no ending or beginning. His love sent the perfect sacrifice of His Son, to die for my sin.

I’m reminded of an old hymn.

“Heaven is a wonderful place,

Filled with Glory and Grace,

I want to see my Savior’s face

Heaven is a wonderful place.”

The more I know about God, the more I realize that Heaven isn’t great because of the gates made our of pearls or the streets of gold.  No, my God dwells there.  I will see him, touch him, speak with him.  Is it possible to long for a place but not want to go, yet?  Part of me, I shamefully admit, is even afraid of leaving.  I want to see God, but I don’t want to leave the people I love here.  I love my husband, kids, family and friends.  At the same time, I long to see God.  I want to see the scars in the hands of Christ.  Hear his voice.  I want to be held in his loving arms. What beauty there is in that thought! Being with the one who gave his life for me.  There is joy in the presence of my God!

Psalm 84: 1-4

1 How lovely is your dwelling place,
LORD Almighty!
2 My soul yearns, even faints,
for the courts of the LORD;
my heart and my flesh cry out
for the living God.
3 Even the sparrow has found a home,
and the swallow a nest for herself,
where she may have her young—
a place near your altar,
LORD Almighty, my King and my God.
4 Blessed are those who dwell in your house;
they are ever praising you.

What peace to know that we can see our loved ones who have trusted Christ once again. May God be praised in all the earth!

Leave a Reply

Categories

