Posted by: onmyway2organized | February 25, 2011

Confused

confused.  I think I just might spend half of my life in this state.

Ever since I have had Noah, I have struggled with a tight feeling in my calf muscles.  It started immediately after giving birth to him.  It would go away and then come back and bother me for a while.  And even though it bothered me at times, I didn’t give it much attention.  That is, until a few weeks ago.  The tightening turned into a burning sensation.  At times I felt like I need to move to get any relief. Yet, at other times the moving didn’t seem to help at all.   Being the completely rational person hypochondriac that I am, I looked to logical answers on the internet.  Blood clots, poor circulation, diabetes.  WHAT?!  I started praying that God would spare me a few more years in this life.  Started looking more seriously at what I ate.  Read about different foods to avoid and began to become utterly overwhelmed and confused with all of the information.

During this time I went to a small health store, that I had been eying to go to for a while.  I talked with one of the workers there, who was helpful.  I told her about my legs and she it sounded like I may be magnesium deficient.  (shew- that sounded a lot better than a circulation problem)  I then started talking to her about all the information I was reading and that it just sounds conflicting at times.  Don’t eat fat. Eat fat.  Coconut oil is good for you.  Don’t eat coconuts they are saturated fat.  Olive oil can go rancid.  Olive oil is healthy.  Shewww!  The list could go on and on.

Then I had an “ah-ha” moment.  She said, “No one fat is better. (trans fat aside here, folks), your body needs fats and needs a variety of fat.”   Oh yeah, variety.  I had been so consumed with finding the perfect oil, or “fat”,  to cook with that I forgot that too much of anything, even a good thing isn’t good for you.   Sure there are certain things to stay away from- any oil that isn’t natural.  But there are a lot of good oils that, in moderation, are good for you.  And your body can benefit from the different properties found in each one.

As far as my legs go, the magnesium has seamed to help a little.  But, I’m beginning to think it may also have something to do with circulation.  I may be sitting at the computer too much, seeing that it seems worse when I’ve spent more time doing that.  And I have a super bad habit of always crossing my legs or siting indian-style like.  Only God really knows, and really, only God can heal me.  I will let you all know if I ever find anything else out.  For now I’m going to take a balance approach to my health and try not to get caught up in any one “fad” 🙂

Responses

  1. Have you ever looked at restless leg syndrome?

    • not really. I suppose I should though. Sometimes it is during the day, and for whatever reason (?) I thought that happened only at night. But I have no idea why I think that- except the commercials show people resting at night. So maybe that is why I thought that? I will take a look into it, thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

